Outstanding Service Award

The Outstanding Service Award is presented by the San Francisco Neurological Society in recognition of longstanding service and support of SFNS activities.

Award recipients include:

2021-2022 - Dr. Mark Sedrak
2020-2021 - Dr. Suzy Maska
2019 - Dr. Suketu Khandhar
2018 - Dr. Steven J. Holtz
2017 – Dr. Oscar Abeliuk
2016 – Dr. Eric Collins
2015- Dr. Robyn Young
2014 – Dr. Eric Denys
2013- Dr. Jack Rozance

SFNS Lifetime Achievement Award

denys smiling holding his crsytal award

Dr. Denys accepts Lifetime Achievement Award

Dr. Eric Denys received the SFNS Lifetime Achievement Award at the 2022 Annual Dinner. Congratulations Dr. Denys!



2022 Young Investigator Awards


The Edwin Boldrey Award is intended to recognize a research project in neuroscience.

Clara Starkweather, MD, PhD - UCSF Neurosurgery Resident
Neural Correlates of Stepping in an Intra-operative Task


The Henry Newman award is presented each year to the author of the best paper dealing with clinical neurology.

Christina Young, PhD - Stanford Neuropsychology Fellow
Divergent Cortical tau PET Patterns in Preclinical Alzheimer's Disease


The Harold Rosegay Award is given annually to the best clinical paper covering topics in neurosurgical anatomy, history and clinical practice.

Nitin Agarwal, MD - UCSF Neurosurgery Fellow
How a Personalized Opioid Protocol Can Mitigate Opioid Overprescription for Postoperative Patients


The John Hanbery Award is given annually to the best clinical paper covering topics in neurosurgery.

Satvir Saggi, BS - UCSF Medical Student (MS2)
Machine Learning for Predicting Delayed Cerebral Ischemia in Patients with Aneurysmal Subarachnoid Hemorrhage


The Child Neurology Award is given annually to the best clinical paper covering topics in child neurology.

Rachel Vassar, MD - UCSF Child Neurology Resident
Timing of Withdrawal of Life-Sustaining Therapies in Children after Out-of-Hospital Cardiac Arrest: A Retrospective, Observational Study

young investigator winners standing in front of a painting

2019 Young Investigator Award Recipients. Left to right: Dr. Mark Sedrak, Dr. Christina Young, Dr. Rachel Vassar, Dr. Clara Starkweather, Dr. Nitin Agarwal,and Dr. Satvir Saggi

Past Award Recipients

Henry Newman Award

Edwin Boldrey Award

John Hanbery Award

Harold Rosegay Award

Additional Awards

Congratulations to SFNS member Dr. Donald C. Kitt for receiving Special Recognition in Teaching for Outstanding Contribution as a Volunteer Clinical Professor from UCSF School of Medicine.

Congratulations SFNS Member, and former SFNS President Robyn G. Young, MD, FAAN, FACP! Dr. Young received the Royer Award for Excellence in Community Neurology from UCSF. The Award was established in 1962 by late Oakland physician J. Elliot Royer, MD, to recognize those who have made a significant contribution to the advancement of psychiatry or neurology during the year.

Congratulations to SFNS CME Director Steven J. Holtz, MD, FAAN! Dr. Holtz received special recognition in teaching for his outstanding contributions as a volunteer Clinical Professor from the University of California San Francisco School of Medicine.