Skip to main content


SFNS 2024 Young Investigator Awards Call for Papers

Young Investigator Awards chair: Suzy Maska, MD

All Northern California residents, fellows, and medical students in the Neurosciences are invited to submit their research for consideration for the San Francisco Neurological Society's (SFNS) annual awards.

The following awards will be given at the SFNS annual meeting:

  • The Edwin Boldrey award is given annually to the best research paper in neuroscience.
  • The Henry Newman award is given annually to the best paper on clinical neurology.
  • The John Hanbery award is given annually to the best paper on clinical neurosurgery.
  • The Harold Rosegay award is given annually to the best paper on neurosurgical anatomy, history and clinical practice.
  • The SFNS Presidents Award will be given to the best paper that addresses diversity, equity, social justice and/or treatment disparities in clinical neurology or neurosurgery.


  • ONE abstract submission per person
  • All submissions must be original and unpublished
  • Work can be pending publication
  • Word limit count: 500
  • Must be available to present your paper at the SFNS Annual Meeting
  • Each presentation is to be 20 minutes in length
  • You may not have previously won a total of TWO of any of the SFNS Young Investigator Awards
  • One attachment is allowed (table, figure, or video with a maximum length of 2 minutes)

Award Winners Will Receive

  • $500 honorarium
  • One night complimentary lodging at the The Meritage Napa
  • Complimentary meeting registration for the annual meeting
  • Award certificate

Young Investigator Research Forum

Those not selected for a Young Investigator Award may still have an opportunity to present their work at the Young Investigator Research Forum during the annual meeting. Talk time allotments are between 10-12 minutes.

Young Investigator Research Forum presenters are responsible for registering for the annual meeting and making their own hotel reservations.

Apply for the YI Awards

Boldrey Award

The Edwin Boldrey Award is intended to recognize a research project in neuroscience.

Jacob Young, MD - UCSF Neurosurgery Resident

Reprogramming the glioblastoma immune microenvironment with convection enhanced gene therapy reveals intratumor IL6 drives glioblastoma immunosuppression and growth.

Newman Award

The Henry Newman award is presented each year to the author of the best paper dealing with clinical neurology.

Lauren Hammer, MD, PhD - UCSF Neurology Fellow

Patient-specific closed-loop deep brain stimulation improves residual Parkinson’s disease symptoms during at-home evaluation.

Rosegay Award

The Harold Rosegay Award is given annually to the best clinical paper covering topics in neurosurgical anatomy, history and clinical practice.

Ryan Jamiolkowski, MD, PhD - Stanford Neurosurgery Resident

The Fasciola Cinereum of the Hippocampal Tail is an Epileptic Focus and Source of Seizure Recurrence.

Hanbery Award

The John Hanbery Award is given annually to the best clinical paper covering topics in neurosurgery.

Gabriela Ruiz Colón, BA - Stanford Medical Student

Language as a Driver of Outcomes in Pediatric Patients with Hydrocephalus.

The Outstanding Service Award is presented by the San Francisco Neurological Society in recognition of longstanding service and support of SFNS activities.

  • 2021-2022 - Dr. Mark Sedrak
  • 2020-2021 - Dr. Suzy Maska
  • 2019 - Dr. Suketu Khandhar
  • 2018 - Dr. Steven J. Holtz
  • 2017 – Dr. Oscar Abeliuk
  • 2016 – Dr. Eric Collins
  • 2015- Dr. Robyn Young
  • 2014 – Dr. Eric Denys
  • 2013- Dr. Jack Rozance

Dr. Eric Denys received the SFNS Lifetime Achievement Award at the 2022 Annual Dinner. Congratulations Dr. Denys!